xmlrpcd.git
4 years agoUpdated changelogs. master v1.0.1
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Jun 2015 19:35:38 +0000 (21:35 +0200)]
Updated changelogs.

4 years agoFix in xmlrpcd for IO::Socket::SSL 1.94 (RHEL7).
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Jun 2015 19:31:34 +0000 (21:31 +0200)]
Fix in xmlrpcd for IO::Socket::SSL 1.94 (RHEL7).

$daemon socket was closed too soon for $client->get_request to work.

4 years agoAdded HTTPs protocol module to dependencies in RHEL7 package.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 20:35:21 +0000 (22:35 +0200)]
Added HTTPs protocol module to dependencies in RHEL7 package.

4 years agoFixed xmlrpcaller for newer libwww-perl (6.x, I suppose).
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 23 Jun 2015 20:32:51 +0000 (22:32 +0200)]
Fixed xmlrpcaller for newer libwww-perl (6.x, I suppose).

6 years agoMisspelling.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 27 Oct 2013 22:17:58 +0000 (23:17 +0100)]
Misspelling.

7 years agoAdded xmlrpcaller example for Ruby.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 24 May 2012 12:19:37 +0000 (14:19 +0200)]
Added xmlrpcaller example for Ruby.

7 years agoNow that support for Python clients was fixed, example could be simplified.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 24 May 2012 12:11:23 +0000 (14:11 +0200)]
Now that support for Python clients was fixed, example could be simplified.

But in case somebody still has xmlrpcd 1.0 or earlier, old example is kept.

7 years agoTracked down and fixed cause for Python's XML-RPC library failures.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 24 May 2012 11:34:42 +0000 (13:34 +0200)]
Tracked down and fixed cause for Python's XML-RPC library failures.

Turned out that Python's library expects "Connection: close" in HTTP headers
just before last response in HTTP connection.

7 years ago[#43] Added Content-Type HTTP header to response.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 24 May 2012 10:52:21 +0000 (12:52 +0200)]
[#43] Added Content-Type HTTP header to response.

It is required by XML-RPC protocol and used by Ruby client module.

7 years ago[#41] Added chdir() to xmlrpcd.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 13:53:00 +0000 (14:53 +0100)]
[#41] Added chdir() to xmlrpcd.

Funny, but App::Daemon doesn't do that.

7 years agoRemoved /var/run/xmlrpcd/, as it is no longer necessary.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 11:58:34 +0000 (12:58 +0100)]
Removed /var/run/xmlrpcd/, as it is no longer necessary.

It was when xmlrpcd was running with UID xmlrpcd. And also, it caused minor
problems on RHEL4/5 to have /var/run/xmlrpcd/xmlrpcd.pid file instead of
simple /var/run/xmlrpcd.pid.

7 years agoRH initscripts are bash scripts, because of library functions.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 11:41:35 +0000 (12:41 +0100)]
RH initscripts are bash scripts, because of library functions.

7 years agoxmlrpcaller.py made compatible with older Pythons.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 6 Feb 2012 09:42:43 +0000 (10:42 +0100)]
xmlrpcaller.py made compatible with older Pythons.

Python 2.3.4, for instance, doesn't have b64encode() function in base64
module.

8 years agoUpdated changelogs. v1.0
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 24 Oct 2011 15:54:15 +0000 (17:54 +0200)]
Updated changelogs.

8 years agoAdded plain HTTP call possibility for xmlrpcaller (--allow-no-ssl).
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 24 Oct 2011 15:44:06 +0000 (17:44 +0200)]
Added plain HTTP call possibility for xmlrpcaller (--allow-no-ssl).

8 years agoAdded man pages to build procedures (both Debian and RH).
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 24 Oct 2011 15:11:39 +0000 (17:11 +0200)]
Added man pages to build procedures (both Debian and RH).

8 years agoUpdated xmlrpcaller.conf.example.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 24 Oct 2011 14:53:41 +0000 (16:53 +0200)]
Updated xmlrpcaller.conf.example.

8 years agoFinished documentation on xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 24 Oct 2011 14:52:41 +0000 (16:52 +0200)]
Finished documentation on xmlrpcaller.

8 years agoAdded some documentation on xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 11 Oct 2011 18:21:46 +0000 (20:21 +0200)]
Added some documentation on xmlrpcaller.

8 years agoAdded defining $HOME environment variable.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 10 Oct 2011 13:31:14 +0000 (15:31 +0200)]
Added defining $HOME environment variable.

8 years agoAdded the rest of xmlrpcd manual.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 10 Oct 2011 13:26:56 +0000 (15:26 +0200)]
Added the rest of xmlrpcd manual.

8 years agoAdded some documentation to xmlrpcd.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 9 Oct 2011 11:52:32 +0000 (13:52 +0200)]
Added some documentation to xmlrpcd.

This is NOT a complete manual yet.

8 years ago[#20] Changed TCP listening connection backlog from 1 to 64.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 7 Oct 2011 17:01:09 +0000 (19:01 +0200)]
[#20] Changed TCP listening connection backlog from 1 to 64.

I don't feel that this fixes the problem, as I'm not sure why exactly the
problem arose in the first place.
I have no better idea on how to debug this, though, and the change seems to
work quite well.

8 years ago[#18] Added printing progress bar for multicall in xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 7 Oct 2011 16:42:36 +0000 (18:42 +0200)]
[#18] Added printing progress bar for multicall in xmlrpcaller.

8 years ago[#19] Added configurable TCP timeout parameter in xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 7 Oct 2011 15:56:59 +0000 (17:56 +0200)]
[#19] Added configurable TCP timeout parameter in xmlrpcaller.

8 years ago[#21] Added passing requested URI (without hostname part) to RPC methods.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 7 Oct 2011 15:10:07 +0000 (17:10 +0200)]
[#21] Added passing requested URI (without hostname part) to RPC methods.

8 years ago[#17] Added --max-conns=## option to xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 7 Oct 2011 15:00:32 +0000 (17:00 +0200)]
[#17] Added --max-conns=## option to xmlrpcaller.

8 years agoAdded timeouts (fixed 60s) for reading request and for sending response.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 28 Sep 2011 08:25:35 +0000 (10:25 +0200)]
Added timeouts (fixed 60s) for reading request and for sending response.

8 years ago[#16] Added changing process name of xmlrpcd.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 28 Sep 2011 08:22:46 +0000 (10:22 +0200)]
[#16] Added changing process name of xmlrpcd.

This is small help for admin to determine which client and which remote
procedure the daemon is serving.

8 years agoUpdated changelogs. v0.7
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 16:22:01 +0000 (18:22 +0200)]
Updated changelogs.

8 years agoFixed initscript to run properly on RHEL4.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 16:15:31 +0000 (18:15 +0200)]
Fixed initscript to run properly on RHEL4.

RHEL4 has messed up @INC order (vendor is after perl). This hack helps a bit.

8 years agoAdded --help to xmlrpcd.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 15:40:09 +0000 (17:40 +0200)]
Added --help to xmlrpcd.

8 years agoWalk around over App::Daemon PID file bug.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 15:26:45 +0000 (17:26 +0200)]
Walk around over App::Daemon PID file bug.

8 years ago[#1]: Replaced old, buggy and ugly code to call multiple hosts at single run.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 15:18:48 +0000 (17:18 +0200)]
[#1]: Replaced old, buggy and ugly code to call multiple hosts at single run.

8 years agoReorganized a bit code in xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 5 Sep 2011 14:32:08 +0000 (16:32 +0200)]
Reorganized a bit code in xmlrpcaller.

8 years ago[#11]: Added possibility to load remote procedure args from file.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 2 Sep 2011 15:08:58 +0000 (17:08 +0200)]
[#11]: Added possibility to load remote procedure args from file.

The file is, of course, in YAML format.

8 years agoAdded some stuff that should simplify testing xmlrpcd.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 2 Sep 2011 13:54:46 +0000 (15:54 +0200)]
Added some stuff that should simplify testing xmlrpcd.

8 years ago[#10]: Added passing username and IP to methods (only on request).
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 2 Sep 2011 11:42:37 +0000 (13:42 +0200)]
[#10]: Added passing username and IP to methods (only on request).

8 years ago[#9]: Enabled possibility of defining UID/GID, under which method runs.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 2 Sep 2011 11:01:35 +0000 (13:01 +0200)]
[#9]: Enabled possibility of defining UID/GID, under which method runs.

8 years agoRemoved changing UID to some non-privileged.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 1 Sep 2011 13:37:35 +0000 (15:37 +0200)]
Removed changing UID to some non-privileged.

This is to be moved closer to called method.
In the meantime, changed command line options to --default-*.

8 years agoFlattened xmlrpcd client call handling (Connection: keep-alive).
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 1 Sep 2011 13:19:12 +0000 (15:19 +0200)]
Flattened xmlrpcd client call handling (Connection: keep-alive).

This shouldn't be much of problem and shouldn't make too much of load.

8 years agoFixed xmlrpcaller for Debian 6.0 (new LWP).
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 2 Sep 2011 13:20:04 +0000 (15:20 +0200)]
Fixed xmlrpcaller for Debian 6.0 (new LWP).

8 years agoFix: two RPC methods in the same directory, both use global variable.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 2 Sep 2011 09:36:10 +0000 (11:36 +0200)]
Fix: two RPC methods in the same directory, both use global variable.

There was a collision when two methods from the same directory used the same
global variable name.

8 years agoFixed bug: incorrect $? value after `` in client processing.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 18 May 2011 09:31:03 +0000 (11:31 +0200)]
Fixed bug: incorrect $? value after `` in client processing.

Child process had non-default SIGCHLD handler (for automatically reaping
spawned children), which was not expected by backtick operator.

8 years agoxmlrpcaller can now call URLs authenticated with other realm than "".
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 12 Jan 2011 22:22:29 +0000 (23:22 +0100)]
xmlrpcaller can now call URLs authenticated with other realm than "".

For example a CGI script or Trac XML-RPC with HTTP authentication most
probably won't have an empty realm, but something descriptive instead.

8 years agoUpdated changelogs. v0.6
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 26 Dec 2010 16:43:25 +0000 (17:43 +0100)]
Updated changelogs.

8 years agoAdded support for calling multiple hosts at one call.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 26 Dec 2010 16:33:00 +0000 (17:33 +0100)]
Added support for calling multiple hosts at one call.

Multiple hosts can be specified using config file.

8 years agoUpdated debian/changelog and spec. v0.5
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 18:22:14 +0000 (19:22 +0100)]
Updated debian/changelog and spec.

8 years agoImproved example CGI script.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 18:21:13 +0000 (19:21 +0100)]
Improved example CGI script.

8 years agoImproved logging example.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 18:18:45 +0000 (19:18 +0100)]
Improved logging example.

8 years agoMoved all examples to examples/ subdir.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 18:17:04 +0000 (19:17 +0100)]
Moved all examples to examples/ subdir.

8 years agoAdded example CGI script that does XML-RPC.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 18:11:44 +0000 (19:11 +0100)]
Added example CGI script that does XML-RPC.

8 years agoAdded --url option to xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Fri, 26 Nov 2010 16:43:14 +0000 (17:43 +0100)]
Added --url option to xmlrpcaller.

8 years agoUpdated changelog. v0.4
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 22:13:17 +0000 (23:13 +0100)]
Updated changelog.

8 years agoAdded new option to xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 22:12:29 +0000 (23:12 +0100)]
Added new option to xmlrpcaller.

8 years agoFixed xmlrpcaller section name from config.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 21:46:40 +0000 (22:46 +0100)]
Fixed xmlrpcaller section name from config.

8 years agoUpdated debian/changelog and Red Hat spec.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 19:03:32 +0000 (20:03 +0100)]
Updated debian/changelog and Red Hat spec.

8 years agoFixed bug that prevented xmlrpcd to restart when some client was being handled.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 19:00:40 +0000 (20:00 +0100)]
Fixed bug that prevented xmlrpcd to restart when some client was being handled.

8 years agoFixed bug that prevented mentioning a method two times.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 18:55:56 +0000 (19:55 +0100)]
Fixed bug that prevented mentioning a method two times.

Like in "auth: /dir/*.pm" and "public: /dir/specific.pm". Somehow method
"specific" was calling incorrect function.

8 years agoFixed running as root in Red Hat initscript. v0.3
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 25 Nov 2010 15:36:21 +0000 (16:36 +0100)]
Fixed running as root in Red Hat initscript.

8 years agoUpdated changelogs. Added dependencies to spec file.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 23 Nov 2010 21:02:00 +0000 (22:02 +0100)]
Updated changelogs. Added dependencies to spec file.

8 years agoFixed xmlrpcaller for Red Hat (Perl < 5.10).
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 23 Nov 2010 20:50:42 +0000 (21:50 +0100)]
Fixed xmlrpcaller for Red Hat (Perl < 5.10).

8 years agoAdded Red Hat package building stuff. v0.2
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 23 Nov 2010 12:25:16 +0000 (13:25 +0100)]
Added Red Hat package building stuff.

8 years agoUpdated changelog.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 8 Nov 2010 10:16:42 +0000 (11:16 +0100)]
Updated changelog.

8 years agoUpdated Python XML-RPC caller example.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 10 Nov 2010 15:41:45 +0000 (16:41 +0100)]
Updated Python XML-RPC caller example.

8 years agoPulled changes to daemonization procedure from dcmlog.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 28 Oct 2010 10:33:51 +0000 (12:33 +0200)]
Pulled changes to daemonization procedure from dcmlog.

9 years agoIf xmlrpcd is to be run as root, tell App::Daemon that it's going to do so. v0.1
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 21 Sep 2010 10:14:06 +0000 (12:14 +0200)]
If xmlrpcd is to be run as root, tell App::Daemon that it's going to do so.

App::Daemon, if run by root, by default changes to nobody.

9 years agoDebianized sources.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 8 Sep 2010 13:00:43 +0000 (15:00 +0200)]
Debianized sources.

9 years agoAdded makefile for installation.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 8 Sep 2010 12:11:56 +0000 (14:11 +0200)]
Added makefile for installation.

This is preparation for sources debianization.

9 years agoRenamed all configs to *.example.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 8 Sep 2010 12:11:33 +0000 (14:11 +0200)]
Renamed all configs to *.example.

9 years agoChanged default config files to /etc/xmlrpcd/*.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 8 Sep 2010 11:38:47 +0000 (13:38 +0200)]
Changed default config files to /etc/xmlrpcd/*.

9 years agoAdded Python XML-RPC caller example.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 20:00:59 +0000 (22:00 +0200)]
Added Python XML-RPC caller example.

This works for a) HTTPs and b) HTTP authentication.

9 years agoAdded differentiating of private and public methods.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 21:38:30 +0000 (23:38 +0200)]
Added differentiating of private and public methods.

Private methods require authentication, while public ones don't.

9 years agoAdded changing UID/GID.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 21:01:30 +0000 (23:01 +0200)]
Added changing UID/GID.

9 years agoRename: xmlcaller to xmlrpcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 20:41:56 +0000 (22:41 +0200)]
Rename: xmlcaller to xmlrpcaller.

9 years agoAdded code to read password from terminal.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 18:36:23 +0000 (20:36 +0200)]
Added code to read password from terminal.

9 years agoAdded parsing command line in xmlcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 18:05:38 +0000 (20:05 +0200)]
Added parsing command line in xmlcaller.

9 years agoAdded processing each client in a separate process.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 15:30:57 +0000 (17:30 +0200)]
Added processing each client in a separate process.

9 years agoMoved code to separate functions and no lexical/global lexical variables exchange.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 15:21:56 +0000 (17:21 +0200)]
Moved code to separate functions and no lexical/global lexical variables exchange.

9 years agoAdded loading procedures using config-specified external files.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 14:28:46 +0000 (16:28 +0200)]
Added loading procedures using config-specified external files.

9 years agoAdded Authen::Simple to authenticate HTTP requests.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Sep 2010 13:41:19 +0000 (15:41 +0200)]
Added Authen::Simple to authenticate HTTP requests.

9 years agoAdded demonization and logging.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 6 Sep 2010 14:50:53 +0000 (16:50 +0200)]
Added demonization and logging.

Used: App::Daemon and Log::Log4perl.

9 years agoAdded dependency list
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 22:16:35 +0000 (00:16 +0200)]
Added dependency list

9 years agoAdded HTTP auth (basic) for both client and server.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 22:10:20 +0000 (00:10 +0200)]
Added HTTP auth (basic) for both client and server.

9 years agoAdded verifying server's hostname.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 21:32:46 +0000 (23:32 +0200)]
Added verifying server's hostname.

9 years agoAdded verifying SSL certificates in client.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 21:07:19 +0000 (23:07 +0200)]
Added verifying SSL certificates in client.

9 years agoAdded RPC handling.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 20:42:14 +0000 (22:42 +0200)]
Added RPC handling.

9 years agoAdded message loop to daemon.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 20:32:40 +0000 (22:32 +0200)]
Added message loop to daemon.

9 years agoAdded stub for a xmlcaller.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 20:21:17 +0000 (22:21 +0200)]
Added stub for a xmlcaller.

9 years agoAdded stub of daemon.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 20:15:59 +0000 (22:15 +0200)]
Added stub of daemon.

9 years agoInit.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 4 Sep 2010 20:05:57 +0000 (22:05 +0200)]
Init.