erlang-gen_inotify.git
23 months agoUpdated shell usage example in README and overview.edoc. master
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 4 Dec 2017 22:01:50 +0000 (23:01 +0100)]
Updated shell usage example in README and overview.edoc.

Now the module needs the application to be started.

23 months agoVersion bump. v0.1.1
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 23 Nov 2017 21:37:54 +0000 (22:37 +0100)]
Version bump.

2 years agoOff by one in appending filename in scan.
Stanislaw Klekot [Mon, 13 Nov 2017 21:47:36 +0000 (22:47 +0100)]
Off by one in appending filename in scan.

It only affected checking if the entry is a directory.

2 years agoSilenced warnings in port driver in newer Erlang releases.
Stanislaw Klekot [Tue, 7 Nov 2017 21:24:07 +0000 (22:24 +0100)]
Silenced warnings in port driver in newer Erlang releases.

2 years agoVersion bump. v0.1.0
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 29 Oct 2017 12:15:11 +0000 (13:15 +0100)]
Version bump.

2 years agoAdded release helper files.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 29 Oct 2017 12:13:57 +0000 (13:13 +0100)]
Added release helper files.

2 years agoAdded port driver to `make install' target.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 29 Oct 2017 12:13:12 +0000 (13:13 +0100)]
Added port driver to `make install' target.

2 years agoAdded overview.edoc.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 29 Oct 2017 12:12:15 +0000 (13:12 +0100)]
Added overview.edoc.

2 years agoAdded link to on-line docs to README.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sun, 29 Oct 2017 12:05:56 +0000 (13:05 +0100)]
Added link to on-line docs to README.

2 years agoAdded a note about unicode filenames.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 21:35:34 +0000 (23:35 +0200)]
Added a note about unicode filenames.

2 years agoReplaced exhaustive search with a binary lookup in watch list.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 21:29:45 +0000 (23:29 +0200)]
Replaced exhaustive search with a binary lookup in watch list.

This should make lookups faster, though adding or removing a watch will be
a little slower in some cases.

2 years agoAdded registered atoms to gen_inotify.app.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 19:52:14 +0000 (21:52 +0200)]
Added registered atoms to gen_inotify.app.

2 years agoKilled unused descriptor options: `recursive' and `real_path'.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 11 Oct 2017 19:51:30 +0000 (21:51 +0200)]
Killed unused descriptor options: `recursive' and `real_path'.

2 years agoUpdated documentation and README.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 7 Oct 2017 17:47:17 +0000 (19:47 +0200)]
Updated documentation and README.

2 years agoAdded a way to count watches and changed listing's returned value.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 7 Oct 2017 17:12:59 +0000 (19:12 +0200)]
Added a way to count watches and changed listing's returned value.

The listing change is to match count's return type.

2 years agoAdded listing one subdirectory of a watched directory.
Stanislaw Klekot [Sat, 7 Oct 2017 14:35:18 +0000 (16:35 +0200)]
Added listing one subdirectory of a watched directory.

Listing has structure similar enough to mkdir() events to handle them in the
same way, without need of a separate loop over a wildcard after adding the
parent directory.

2 years agoAdded passing open options down to the port.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 22:43:28 +0000 (00:43 +0200)]
Added passing open options down to the port.

2 years agoUpdated "known problems" README section.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 22:28:13 +0000 (00:28 +0200)]
Updated "known problems" README section.

2 years ago`is_dir', `unmount', and `watch_removed' flags made at fixed positions.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 22:25:30 +0000 (00:25 +0200)]
`is_dir', `unmount', and `watch_removed' flags made at fixed positions.

This is not guaranteed by inotify subsystem, but I could quite cheaply ensure
it in my interface.

2 years agoDialyzer made happy about driver name.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 21:37:55 +0000 (23:37 +0200)]
Dialyzer made happy about driver name.

2 years agoAdded listing watches and flags.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 21:34:55 +0000 (23:34 +0200)]
Added listing watches and flags.

2 years agoAdded checks for non-empty filename.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 21:05:55 +0000 (23:05 +0200)]
Added checks for non-empty filename.

2 years agoDelayed removing watches to when an event with IN_IGNORED flag comes.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 21:03:58 +0000 (23:03 +0200)]
Delayed removing watches to when an event with IN_IGNORED flag comes.

This also allows to remove watches that were removed implicitly.

2 years agoAdded own wrapper around realpath() function.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 20:41:04 +0000 (22:41 +0200)]
Added own wrapper around realpath() function.

This allows me to contrl whether symlink resolution will be done or not, and
I got rid of inserting trailing NUL byte in add()/update()/remove().

2 years agoAdded cookie to notify message.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 20:16:43 +0000 (22:16 +0200)]
Added cookie to notify message.

2 years agoAdded keeping watched paths and sending them as messages.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 20:02:55 +0000 (22:02 +0200)]
Added keeping watched paths and sending them as messages.

2 years agoSkipped crashing port on EAGAIN/EWOULDBLOCK.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 19:28:45 +0000 (21:28 +0200)]
Skipped crashing port on EAGAIN/EWOULDBLOCK.

2 years agoSending errors moved to a separate function.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 19:26:21 +0000 (21:26 +0200)]
Sending errors moved to a separate function.

Mainly to shorten the event processing loop.

2 years agoBuffer for events made larger.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 19:17:41 +0000 (21:17 +0200)]
Buffer for events made larger.

2 years agoFixed losing short events.
Stanislaw Klekot [Thu, 5 Oct 2017 19:16:18 +0000 (21:16 +0200)]
Fixed losing short events.

Reading a buffer large enough to hold maximum event size may result in reading
more than one event if the events are short.

2 years agoLooking up atoms replaced with static variables read at driver init.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 4 Oct 2017 21:45:37 +0000 (23:45 +0200)]
Looking up atoms replaced with static variables read at driver init.

2 years agoImplemented large parts of reading inotify events.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 4 Oct 2017 21:23:29 +0000 (23:23 +0200)]
Implemented large parts of reading inotify events.

2 years agoAdded skeleton of the application.
Stanislaw Klekot [Wed, 4 Oct 2017 18:53:37 +0000 (20:53 +0200)]
Added skeleton of the application.

It's a quite advanced skeleton.